Orange & Black

10 Sep

I’m channeling my Cincinnati Bengals in today’s post! Orange and black can be tough to wear together because they tend to scream “Halloween”. To avoid this from happening I added my go-to aqua-colored Anthropologie statement necklace. The small pop of blue offsets the dominant orange and black, and also helps prevent me from looking like I’m anxiously awaiting October 31. I’m hoping these Bengals-themed colors will be a good luck charm since I’m still sulking from Sunday’s loss to the Bears. After all, we play the Steelers next week, and they’re ourΒ biggest rivals! Sorry if any of you are Steelers fans. Also, I apologize that this was a mostly sports talk post. I’m obsessed with baseball and football, and sometimes I just can’t hide it!

Orange and Black Outfit

Black Top Orange Skirt

Orange and Black Work Outfit

Orange Pencil Skirt

Ann Taylor Stretch Cotton Twill Madison Skirt Orange

Top: Madewell | Skirt: Ann Taylor | Shoes: BCBGeneration (similar) | Necklace: Anthropologie (similar) | Watch: La Mer Collections | Nails: L’Oreal ‘Because You’re Worth It’

22 Responses to “Orange & Black”

  1. Shmoo September 10, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    Love the bright colours on your skirt and necklace – bold and beautiful!

    Lizzee xo

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 10, 2013 at 9:47 am #

      Thank you, Lizzee! I love how the blue and orange look together!

  2. kli17 September 10, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    I love how you paired the orange skirt with the turquoise necklace!! Love those colors together πŸ™‚

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 10, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      Thank you, Kristin! I love the two together, too! It’s an unexpected combination.

  3. "They'll Never Know..." September 10, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    You are so right, orange and black can be tough to wear together! But it’s definitely all in the styling and this statement necklace looks amaze with your simple black tee!

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 10, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      Thank you! Yeah I think adding a pop of another color helps take away from the Halloween feel!

  4. whatthemom September 10, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    I like the neutral shoe and color of necklace.

  5. TNFashionLove September 10, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    You should try being a Tennessee Vols fan! We eat, sleep, & breathe orange and you’ll never find us trying to hide it–It’s a year round wardrobe must! πŸ™‚ Loving how you styled your look! Xoxo – K

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 10, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Haha that’s awesome! I don’t have too much orange in my closet, but I love the color and want to get more. I bet you have a lot of cute orange stuff!

      • TNFashionLove September 10, 2013 at 10:45 am #

        I have TONS in storage. It’s also easier to find outside of TN because most other people loathe the color! Luckily orange has been pretty popular in the spring collections the past two years, so it’s gotten easier to style outside of a t-shirt & jeans for football games & otherwise. πŸ™‚

  6. lycly September 10, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Adding the necklace really makes an unexpected and beautiful color combination! Good luck to your team – I might live in Pittsburgh but I’m not a Steelers fan (shhh! Don’t tell anyone) πŸ˜‰

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 10, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Hahaha I always assumed since you live in Pittsburgh that you liked the Steelers! But I have to admit that I like the fact that you’re not πŸ™‚

  7. FashionEdible September 10, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Being impartial to anything baseball/football oriented (except the food!), I do hope your team wins πŸ™‚ I love your skirt – it’s such a pretty color!

  8. Stephanie September 11, 2013 at 3:01 am #

    Great color combo! Love those nude pumps too… so classic!

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 12, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      Thank you, Stephanie! Nude pumps are such a good shoe to have. They go with everything!

  9. carascliche September 12, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    Although I love this outfit and you look adorable I am going to have to disagree solely on the grounds that you said the Bengals and not the Seahawks;)

    xx Cara

    • Baubles to Bubbles September 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

      Haha I can totally understand! I have a soft spot for the Seahawks because of my family in Seattle, but the Bengals are my number one love πŸ™‚

  10. Laura N. September 19, 2013 at 12:12 am #

    LOVE this outfit! So pretty. I would absolutely would wear something like this.
    ~Laura
    http://copycatfashionista.wordpress.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roar | baubles to bubbles - September 16, 2013

    […] the Steelers, I had to wear my Lovers + Friends tiger graphic tee. I know I talked about sports last week, but I can’t help myself because I love football. If you don’t remember, I mentioned a […]

Leave a Reply

