Checkmate

25 Nov

Gingham Shirt Leather Pants

If you haven’t noticed, I got five inches of my hair chopped off! It was to the point where it was overtaking my face (and my life), so I took the plunge and could not be happier. I have thick hair, so it can take upwards of an hour to dry and straighten/curl it all. Nothing feels greater than a new haircut that leaves you with some healthy locks!

Gingham Navy Shirt Kate Spade Necklace

Leather Pants Navy Gingham Shirt

Fun backstory on this Kate Spade necklace: it’s actually a bracelet! I put it on my Christmas wish list last year, and Santa pulled through and got it for me. Unfortunately, my excitement quickly turned to puzzlement when I tried it on and it was a little too large for my abnormally small wrists. It probably would have helped if I saw it was listed under the bridal section of the Kate Spade website. All I can say is I was blinded by the bling. It’s actually been sitting in my jewelry drawer since Christmas, which is probably why I keep forgetting to get a chain added to it. My plan is to turn it into a necklace, because how much cuter does it look around the neck? Since I haven’t gotten around to getting a chain put on it, I got super crafty with a piece of string.

Navy Gingham Shirt Black Blazer

Navy Gingham Shirt Black Blazer

Top: Forever 21 (similar) | Blazer: Urban Outfitters (similar) | Pants: H&M (similar) | Shoes: BCBGeneration (similar) | Necklace: Kate Spade (bracelet worn as necklace)

Bloglovin / Twitter / Pinterest / Instagram / Facebook

33 Responses to “Checkmate”

  1. inconformistafashionista November 25, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    I love that necklace of yours!
    XOXO
    inconformistafashionista.wordpress.com

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 25, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      Thank you! I need to actually make it into a necklace now. The string broke right after I took these 😦

  2. Ashley November 25, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    The hair looks great- so chic and super healthy!

    Love the way you’ve re-purposed the Kate Spade bracelet- clever girl! 🙂

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 25, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      Thanks Ashley! I feel so amazing, and so happy my hair isn’t weighing me down. I’m so glad it looked good as a necklace. That would have been an expensive mistake!

  3. FashionEdible November 25, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Wow! It looks amazing as a necklace! And honestly, I would have never even doubted that it wasn’t originally one. Nice job DIYing 🙂

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 25, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

      Thanks Grace! That’s exactly what my mom and I thought. It seriously looks sooo much better as a necklace. I love that I’m getting some DIY skills 🙂

  4. lycly November 25, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    It’s perfect as a necklace!! I love the mixture of sparkles, leather, and gingham. What a great mix!

    xoxo
    CK

  5. SweetCandyDreamer November 25, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    You have got such healthy, beautiful hair!! The bling bracelet as a necklace works really well! 🙂 xx

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 25, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      Aw thank you! I was so happy when it worked as a necklace. Such a relief!

  6. carascliche November 25, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    Just a heads up… I AM stealing that necklace, ok thanks;)

    xx Cara

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 26, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      Perfect, since I’m stealing those gold heels from yesterday’s post!!

  7. Paper Doll Pretty November 25, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    I love that gingham!

  8. audfashion November 25, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Looking good!

  9. cambibsandbaubles November 26, 2013 at 12:36 am #

    That “necklace” totally works! I have been looking for some leggings like those too. Never quite sure I can pull them off. I love how you’ve styled them!

  10. Stephanie November 26, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    Your haircut looks great! I like that piece better as a necklace than a bracelet. I have small wrists too which makes finding bracelets a problem. Cute gingham shirt!

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 26, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      Thank you Stephanie! Yeah an oversized bracelet on an overly small wrist is not the best combo!

  11. GlitzySpritzer November 26, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    Love that you turned that into a necklace, I’ve been looking for a bling bling necklace for a while now. Cute outfit, love the nude shoes with that.
    http://middayspritzer.com/

  12. Alyssa//Runway Chef November 26, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    Whoa! That bracelet-turned-necklace is super fab! I know I haven’t seen it as a bracelet but I think it looks pretty fab as a necklace!

    Runway Chef

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 26, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      Thank you! Oh, it’s so much better as a necklace. It was not cute on my wrist!

  13. jvuong123 November 26, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Very chic!

    xo Jo

    http://www.whiterosesandcoffee.com/

  14. Jen November 27, 2013 at 3:04 am #

    Yes to leather pants! Ah so amazing Olivia! Your hair looks beautiful, I totally understand how nice it is to have a bunch chopped off. I’m getting my hair cut in a couple days and I think I’m going to get a least 3 inches taken off because it seems like all of a sudden it’s become crazy long lol.!

    xo jen
    Pearls & Lace

    • Baubles to Bubbles December 1, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Thank you Jen! I can’t wait to see your new haircut! I love long hair, but sometimes it’s way too much to take care of. When I regret getting too much off I just remind myself it’s going to grow back eventually!

  15. Meret November 29, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    BB – I love what you did with the KS bracelet! Way to be so crafty! IMO, I think it looks better as a necklace anyway. Also, the gingham looks SO good with your leather pants!!

    • Baubles to Bubbles December 1, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

      Thank you Meret! It’s way better as a necklace, thankfully. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to do anything with it!

  16. Amy Loves December 3, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    You have the most amazing figure, wish i looked that good in leather legging!

    Great blog and love your blog.

    • Baubles to Bubbles December 3, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      Aw, thanks so much Amy! You could totally pull them off! So happy to hear you like my blog 🙂

  17. whatwewear December 4, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    love your outfit and gorgeous necklace!!
    xx Vera & Rony
    http://wattwewear.com/

Leave a Reply

