DIY Painted Nightstand

2 Oct

I finally did something I’ve been contemplating doing for over a year now…I made my first YouTube video! This is seriously something I’ve went back and forth on so many times. When I started my blog almost two years ago, I also discovered how much I love watching YouTube videos. I thought it was an entertaining way to take a look into other people’s lives and interests. One of the main things that has held me back for so long is my fear of editing. I studied journalism in college, and had to take an editing class, which was easily one of the hardest classes I took. It intimidated me so much that I didn’t even attempt to learn it (we all have those classes). I recently told myself to get over my fears and just go for it. Luckily, I’ve been working on this over the past week, and I feel like I’ve taught myself so much already! I’m clearly far from a master editor, but it feels good to finally do something that seemed so scary.

This nightstand belonged to my grandma, and it was something I didn’t want to get rid of. I’m not the craftiest girl, but I attempted to repurpose it, and I think the results turned out beautifully! I know I had mentioned on here a few times that I was stressed over which color to paint it. I’m happy with my choice to go pink. It’s seriously so glossy, and I cannot stop staring at it! I feel like a proud mom, and my child is a hot pink piece of wood. This was a surprisingly easy DIY, and if any of you are contemplating rehabbing old furniture, I’d highly recommend it!

I haven’t gotten any good pictures of it, but below is a snap from my iPhone.

 

How To Paint Furniture

6 Responses to “DIY Painted Nightstand”

  1. carascliche October 2, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    This nightstand turned out so cute! Can’t wait for more videos!

    I know what you mean about intimidating, people keep asking for hair tutorials. Everytime I film I feel like a look and sound like a complete goober and then the editing seriously intimidates me!

    xx Cara

  2. funkyfashion007 October 2, 2014 at 6:36 pm #

    I love how this came out, thanks for the tutorial! And video blogging/editing def sounds intimidating, but this looks great! 🙂 http://trend-mixblog.com/

  3. pregaming with coffee October 2, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

    Love the nightstand and your video turned out AWESOME! Super helpful, I’ve always wanted to do a DIY project with furniture but have been somewhat intimidated, this will definitely come in handy!

  4. FashionEdible October 2, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

    Great job Olivia! It looks amazing and your video is so well done!

  5. Char October 2, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

    Great job! Cute nightstand! I just recently did one as well for the first time. I was soooo nervous. One more step toward conquering my fear of speaking and presenting in front of people. It’s paralyzing for me 🙂

  6. Stephanie October 7, 2014 at 3:09 am #

    I loved your video, Olivia! The dresser turned out so nicely. Looking forward to seeing more of your videos! I always consult You Tube prior to buying a new bag… some of the reviews are really helpful. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

