Black, White & Denim

10 Nov

Black Blazer with Denim Jeans

Denim Jeans Dressed Up with Blazer

How is it November 10? I don’t know where 2014 has gone, but I’m freaked out that it’s almost the end! I’m noticing that my hibernation-like tendencies on the weekend are already beginning. I went out Saturday night, and literally had my arms wrapped around a heat lamp at the bar. Yes, I was that girl. UGGs may be on the agenda for future weekend outfits, and I can’t say that I’m embarrassed about it.

I’ve noticed that I’ve been gravitating toward structured, menswear-inspired outfits this fall. I think it’s the amount of blazers and button-down shirts that I own that makes me want to wear outfits that look borrowed-from-the-boys. Not only are the layers of a blouse and blazer nice and warm, but it’s also a combination I use when I look like I want to put in lots of effort. Seriously, don’t you see someone wearing a nice shirt and blazer, and think “they look really put together?” I know I do, and that’s exactly why this is in my arsenal for those days when I’m struggling to put in any extra effort. To spice it up a little, I’ll add a piece of statement jewelry to look like I really had hours to get ready ;). This was a weekend outfit, so I went the more casual route with some distressed Gap jeans. For work, you’ll find me swapping the denim for a simple black pant!

What’s your effortless outfit hack this time of year?

Outfit with Jeans and Black Blazer

Ripped Jeans with Blazer and Blouse

Ripped Jeans with Dressy Blazer

Ruffled White Blouse

Blazer: Urban Outfitters (similar) | Blouse: Ralph Lauren (similar) | Jeans: Gap | Shoes: BCBGeneration (similar) | Earrings: GemSugar c/o

7 Responses to “Black, White & Denim”

  1. KatWalkSF November 10, 2014 at 8:27 am #

    The cape! I love a cape this time of the year. However, San Francisco his still not cooperating with my Fall Fashion dreams!
    -Kat
    http://www.katwalksf.com/

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 10, 2014 at 11:19 am #

      YES, I’ve been looking for a good cape! I’ll gladly trade you weather 😉

  2. FashionEdible November 10, 2014 at 9:57 am #

    Scarves. Capes. Ponchos. Anything adding extra warmth! I love this simple but chic outfit. I’m a huge fan of blazers and love how they look just as good with jeans as they do with a pair of trousers.

  3. In Kinsey's Closet November 10, 2014 at 10:54 am #

    I have to say I love chunky scarves and knit cardigans. Thrown with some skinny pants and knee high boots, they are perfect for fall. I love this look, especially the button down!

    • Baubles to Bubbles November 10, 2014 at 11:20 am #

      Thank you! I agree, cardigans are so easy to style. I need to get more, because my closet is seriously lacking!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How To Style A Men’s Button Down | baubles to bubbles - February 29, 2016

    […] am a huge advocate of menswear-inspired fashion, as evidenced here and here. It’s funny, because my style also tends to veer extremely feminine, so I cover both ends of […]

Leave a Reply

