DIY Glitter Ombré Champagne Bottle

27 Apr

Bar Cart Ideas

This is probably one of my favorite DIY’s I’ve ever done, and for good reason. It’s all about glitter!

Full disclosure: I actually made two of these bottles like two years ago. The plan was to DIY a champagne bottle or two, and then do a tutorial of one for the blog/YouTube. For whatever reason, years came and went and I just never got around to it. There’s a good chance I forgot just because these sparkly ombré bottles looked so pretty on my bar cart and put me in a trance. This leads me to my next point. Sure, you can drink these pretty bottles, but you can also use them as decor! Like I said, I’ve had these so long that they’ve become a staple on my bar cart. People always notice them immediately when they come over, and I love that. My bar cart is fun and colorful, and these fit in perfectly.

Bar Cart Ideas

Another thing I love about these glitter champagne bottles is that you can give them as gifts or use them at parties. I made these for Christmas gifts a couple of years ago and loved how they turned out. I swapped out the pink glitter for red and green glitter and it looked adorable. It was easy to make and made for a memorable, unique gift.

Glitter Champagne Bottles

I filmed an easy tutorial on how to make these come to life, and you’d be amazed how simple the process is! I go over all the steps in the video, but supply wise all you need is a champagne bottle (duh), the glitter colors of your choice (I went with gold to match the bottle’s foil and then pink to create an ombré effect*), some Mod Podge and a sponge brush. That’s it. Those are the only tools you need to make this sparkly statement piece.

I’m not going to lie, this DIY produces a LOT of glitter, so I’d recommend putting a garbage bag down where your workspace is. I filmed this video last week, and I’ve still been finding glitter remnants all over my place.

*If you’re using a champagne bottle with a silver foil, I’d recommend going with a silver glitter. Since you’re leaving the foil exposed, you want it to look natural and flow together.

 

Colorful Bar Cart

And now for a funny story. It wasn’t funny to me at the time, but now that some time has passed it’s all good. When I filmed this video, I totally blanked out and glued the glitter in the wrong spots. I didn’t even realize I had done it until I was finishing up filming. You should have seen my face when I realized I had put the pink glitter on top and the gold on bottom (which is totally wrong). It was actually pretty funny watching that footage when I uploaded it to my computer. Thankfully, it actually didn’t end up looking bad. Plus, since I already had two other ombré bottles, I think it’s nice to have one where the ombré effect is flipped. Crisis averted!

Glitter Champagne Bottle DIY

Glitter Champagne Bottles

10 Responses to “DIY Glitter Ombré Champagne Bottle”

  1. Maggie April 27, 2016 at 9:46 am #

    Ooh this is cool!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    http://www.maggiealamode.com

  2. waketonroad April 27, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

    Super cute! Makes it so fun and girly!

    xo Bryn
    http://www.waketonroad.com

  3. Rachel Trampel April 27, 2016 at 2:38 pm #

    So cute girl! I love it!

  4. katelynchef April 27, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

    This is sooooo darling–I saw your post on twitter and had to see the post for myself!

    The Best,

    Katelyn

    theyellowspectacles.com

  5. Ashley April 28, 2016 at 12:21 pm #

    How FUN are these?! PS- the bar cart is looking flyyyyy!

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thread Cincinnati » DIY Glitter Ombré Champagne Bottle - April 27, 2016

    […] DIY Glitter Ombré Champagne Bottle […]

Leave a Reply

